Wednesday Triple Feature

October 17, 2007 at 8:51 pm | Posted in TV shows | Leave a comment

With most of the new TV shows this season already having aired for several weeks, I have had time to watch at least 1 episode, maybe more, of several shows and as shown by the title, there are three new shows that I have started watching. Thankfully, they are on the same channel, and air one after another.

 I am referring to the ABC Wednesday night lineup. First we have Pushing Daisies, perhaps the best new show this season. The premise is outstanding, Ned is a young man who can bring people back to life with one touch but this power comes with limits. If he touches someone who he brought back to life again, this person dies, this time for good. Also, someone in the same general area as the person he brought back to life dies if he doesn’t touch the undead person again within 60 seconds.

This power comes to good use in his collaboration with Emerson Cod, a somewhat shady PI. They go to the morgue, Ned touches a dead person so he can find out who killed him/her, touches him/her again, and Ned and Emerson collect the money from the reward posters. However, when he brings Charlotte Charles, his childhood sweetheart, back to life, complications ensue. They are very attracted to each other but cannot touch because Charlotte will die, this time for good. Then, there is a case that is profiled each week that Ned, Charlotte, and Emerson have to solve.

Pushing Daisies is also very nice to look at, the Pie Hole (the restaurant where Ned works) is shaped like a pastry, the town the show takes place in looks like the most colorful town ever, think of the Willy Wonka films, the bright happy colors that verges on obnoxious. You do feel like you are in another world, isn’t that the whole point of TV anyway?

Next, we have Private Practice; even though I like the show, I think it’s my least favorite of the three shows. For those of you who have been living under a rock, Private Practice is a spinoff of Grey’s Anatomy. Instead of watching a show about neurotic doctors in a large Seattle hospital, we get to watch a show about neurotic doctors in a small healthy clinic in LA. I remember watching the pilot and hating it, I don’t know what possessed me to watch this show again but I did. What makes this show better than Grey’s are the characters. I like all of them, with the exception of the blonde doctor lady. Somehow I identify with their quirks and find them endearing, while I find the majority of the Grey’s characters whiny. The storylines are pretty interesting as well, I liked the storyline with the woman who said her ‘hoo-ha’ was broken. I think this show is getting better with each episode and finding its stride as a good show in its own right.

The characters of Private Practice are the patrons of normalcy when compared to the Darling family of “Dirty Sexy Money”, the last show of the triple feature. What initially attracted me to the show was Peter Krause, I loved Six Feet Under and was excited when I found out he was one of the stars. To my surprise, I also am liking some of the Darling family; my favorites are the twins, Jeremy and Juliet. They are so oblivious and so entertaining at the same time. I also love watching Donald Sutherland, he has such a commanding presence. To my surprise, I also like Billy Baldwin’s character, Patrick Darling. The whole tranny mistress plotline is alot more entertaining to watch than I thought it would be. What really attracts me to this show is seeing how Nate, I mean Nick George deals with all of a sudden being the Darling family lawyer after his dad’s death (his dad previously held the position), and how he adapts to the Darlings. How does one hold on to their sanity in the midst of working in such a crazy environment?

The next category is for those shows I would like to watch but don’t have the time for. They are relegated to the category of “Wait for the DVD to come out”: Bionic Woman, Reaper, Chuck, Journeyman

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

