A Night With Morrissey: Finding My Inner Misery Chick

October 24, 2007 at 2:27 pm | Posted in Music, Opinion piece | 1 Comment
Tags:

Last night, I had the pleasure of seeing Morrissey at the Hammerstein Ballroom. I went with my friend, LR.  We always see each other at the monthly Shabbat dinners at our friend’s apt. in the neighborhood and we bond over our shared taste in music (Pet Shop Boys, New Order, The Smiths) and fondness for putting lame cliches in conversation and cracking each other up.

When I told LR that Morrissey is in town and I can get cheap tickets, of course he agreed to accompany me. We start off our evening with a yummy dinner of chicken soup and french fries at Kosher Delight and then head down to the HB. First thing I do is ask if there’s a coat room, and to my surprise, there is no coat room. After a minute of whining, I get over it and we look at the merchandise and gasp at the $35 price of Morrissey T-shirts. We make our way to the left side of the floor for the opening act.

Kristeen Young opened up for Morrissey. She started at 8:00 on the dot, not 8:00 on rock n’roll time. Her voice could be described as ‘haunting’ and paired with a hard rock edge could be an interesting combination. After 3-4 songs of the same thing, I was tired of the whole thing. You know you don’t like an opening act when you are texting your boyfriend in the middle of it. After 40 minutes, she got off the stage and we had to watch 20 minutes of random videos while they prepared the stage for Morrissey.

At 9:00, Morrissey comes out, decked out in denim. His hair is now gray instead of black and he has put on some weight but he still has such presence and command of the stage.  The first words Morrissey says to the crowd are “Welcome to the Frankenstein ballroom” and starts the show off with an awesome rendition of “Stop Me”. Some other songs he performed were “The Boy With The Thorn In His Side”, “Irish Blood, English Heart”, “Tomorrow”, “Sister I’m A Poet”, Disappointed”, and “The Boxer”.

Morrissey is one of those artists whose upbeat songs even sound sad. His lyrics are always thought provoking and the melodies of his songs range from rock n’ roll with incredible guitar solos to slow and may I say, depressing melodies with mournful violins thrown in for good measure. I did not know of at least half the songs he performed and I thought I knew alot of his music. Sometimes the quality of an artist’s music decreases a bit with age but I find with Morrissey his music has always been the same high quality and sometimes even better. I would get his latest CD (I think it’s the one with Irish Blood, English Heart).

The mark of a good concert is if I would see the artist again and I would absolutely love to see Morrissey perform again, the only thing I would change is if Kristeen Young were to perform again as opening act I’d make sure to be late to the concert.

PS: Dan, if you are reading this post, I did not forget your question. He did perform “How Soon Is Now”, it was the next to last song he performed and it got quite the reception. Here is his performance of the song from Monday night.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great article!
    I love Morrissey.
    A song of his was in the all time scariest songs!
    check out which one!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

