Halloween Shopping

October 25, 2007 at 8:15 pm | Posted in Outings | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Growing up in the suburbs, Halloween was the best holiday around. Getting dressed up in costumes and walking to random peoples’ houses and getting candy for being dressed up was the most fabulous thing to a kid. The origins of Halloween are not so innocent.

Now I don’t really celebrate Halloween; I can’t remember the last time I wore a costume. So, to my surprise, I was looking for a costume at Ricky’s last night. Bill and I might be going to some parties on Saturday night, of course that assumes that we will be healthy and not coughing, sniffling, or sneezing excessively.

I was looking for my costume and was surprised at the number of risque costumes out there. My friend emailed me that she had difficulty finding a costume that was not so revealing so I was warned. It seemed that every costume showed alot of leg, cleavage, belly button, or all of the above.  Some of these costumes were $70, the less expensive ones were $30-$40. I remember when costumes were homemade and we did not have to shell out tons of money for a costume that you would wear once a year.

After debating whether to get a retro stewardess costume, a Baby Pebbles costume, or a Wilma Flinstone costume, I nixed all these options and got a ‘sexy convict’ costume instead. Now what is a sexy convict costume? Well, it’s a short sleeve orange minidress with a black heart on the back of the costume. I also got some handcuffs to go with the costume, a ball and chain would be nice too. On the packaging, the lady was wearing fishnet stockings and high-heeled sandals. I will not dress that provocatively, black leggings/tights and boots will do.

I also got stuff for Bill’s costume, note I did not buy a costume for him. He came up with a very unique idea and I hope it translates well to reality. Maybe if you’re lucky, I’ll post some pictures.

One more thing: the Village Voice has an article on trends in halloween costumes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

