The Blue Man and The Sexy Convict

October 29, 2007 at 7:35 pm | Posted in Outings | Leave a comment

That title refers to the costumes Bill and I wore to a Halloween party on Saturday night. In a previous post, I mentioned that I did not have to buy a costume for Bill. As a ‘Blue Man’, Bill did not have to get a costume but he needed a whole lot of blue face paint, spirit gum (some kind of glue) and remover, and a bald wig. In case you’re wondering, it takes a very long time to paint your face blue. The bald wig also had to be painted blue. By the time he asked me to help him, his face was blue but he needed help painting the back of his head. What does one wear as a Blue Man? Bill was all dressed in black turtleneck and pants. We aimed to get to the party by 11:00 but by the time we finished up and left his place, we didn’t get to the party until midnight.

The party was held at a downtown loft in support of The Fertile Grounds Project. The loft was very close to the Holland Tunnel, we walk up and we hear some really cool house, dancey music and we see a whole bunch of wacky costumes. I do have to say it was very nice to not be at a bar, there’s something about house parties that are just so much cooler than a bar. Also, the fact that we were partying for a good cause was a great motivator in traveling downtown. Believe me, that part of the city is real tough to get to via public transporation and it is not easy to get there by cab,  especialy if your cab driver has no idea what the hell he’s doing.

Getting back to the party… our friends’ costumes were pretty cool as well; we had a goth cheerleader, naughty schoolgirl costume in the style of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, a policewoman, an EMT, and a costume that reminded me of Bonnie and Clyde.

The pictures came out very nice and this is coming from someone who does not like how she looks in pictures. Either I close my eyes, my smile is ridiculously toothy, I’m looking the wrong way, or all of the above. There were a few not so nice pics of me but I’m happy with the picture overall. There are pictures on my Facebook page; if you don’t have access to that page and want to see some pictures, leave me a comment and we’ll work something out.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

