Positive Blogging Day 2: Meet The (City) Parents

November 5, 2007 at 2:48 pm | Posted in Inspiration, Judaism | 2 Comments
Tags:

positive%2bblog.jpg  Click here.

I have made no secret about how much I love my neighborhood.  There is nothing better on my walk to work than waving to cute babies with their parents or nannies and you do not want to know how many times I stop on the street to play with a cute puppy. But what makes this neighborhood even better is my community. Dr. O and Dr. N live in the neighborhood and I see them, along with my nephews, 1-2x a week. I also have a nice group of friends who I’ve met at shul and/or various dinners, Jewish events, etc. This post is about two of my friends in that group who have made a huge difference in my life.

I first met my city parents while taking classes at KJ a couple years back. At the time, I was just starting to integrate more Judaism into my life. I would take classes and go to Shabbas dinners but I was working on Shabbas because I needed the extra $. I made some really wonderful friends in these classes, among them was an older couple who was also on the same path. Seeing this couple in the same classes learning with such gusto inspired me and many other people in our program. I learned that my city parents used to work in the New York school system and they love the opera. They are very easy people to talk to, and are the best cheerleaders anyone could ever hope for. They expressed admiration for me and my friends for taking all these new practices on but in reality, I think that they are so much more braver than me. Changing such a major part of your life at an older age requires so much dedication and patience, I’m not sure I could have done it if I were in their position. In the summer of 2006, they decided that they wanted to make their kitchen kosher contacted Go Kosher. They have become parental figures to several of the younger people in our beginners program.

With the encouragement of my CP, I stopped working on Saturdays and was able to rearrange my part time schedule to work on 2 weeknights instead. My relationship with my CP grew; I got to celebrate the 60th birthday of my city mommy, we have shared several Shabbas meals together at shul and in their beautiful home, and we attended the weddings of two women who participated in the beginners program. They also attended 3-4 more weddings over the past 3 months of couples in our beginners program. I know for sure that my life today would not be the same without my city parents.

For more inspirational posts, go to:

Hochmah and Musar

Mes Deux Cents

Musings of a Diva

Rainbows and Butterflies

Becoming a Woman of Purpose

Bohemian Hippie Chick

Boring Black Chick

Alisha Nicole

Spirited Strider

Celebrity Blitz

Ezekiel’s Daughter

Yobachi

Celebrate Love

in the search…

The Luscious Librarian

Live From Israel

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. City Parents. That’s an interesting concept. I like this post. I remember when I decided I wanted to be more religious. It was truly an adventure, and I am glad that I took those steps. They changed my life.

  2. […] up the week of positive blogging, let’s revisit the rest of my posts this week: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

