Positive Blogging Day 4: If I Had $30 Million Dollars

November 7, 2007 at 4:35 pm | Posted in Inspiration | 2 Comments
Tags:

A Week of Positive Blogging

Today, I am supposed to write how I would change the world in 3 months with $30 million dollars. Up until now, I have had an easy time coming up with ideas for the themes of the day. Why am I having such a hard time with this particular theme?

For one thing, I cannot imagine having $30 million dollars to change the world. I would occasionally imagine what it would be like if I won the lottery but I was never motivated enough to spend the few dollars or however much it is to buy a ticket. More importantly, I believe that in order to change the world, you need to start at home. I admire organizations like Teach for America that send people to teach in rural or urban environments that need qualified teachers but I do not think you need to join organizations like TFA to change the world.

For example, I went to a volunteer meeting of New York Cares and learned of a shelter within walking distance of my home at the time that needed volunteers every other week to read to the children living there and to help with arts and crafts activities. I would not have known of this shelter if I didn’t go to the New York Cares meeting. New York Cares offers a variety of opportunities for volunteering, whether it’s once a week, once a month, or even once a year and you can work with different populations of people, there are opportunities to work with children and adults.

I am not denying that money cannot change the world; of course money is needed. But I have also heard of times when money has been given to organizations and we learn later that the money was not used well. The New York Times series on minority-run foster care agencies that is running this week illustrates that point. My point is that one does not need $30 million dollars to change the world. However, one must have a sense of compassion and most importantly have the persistence of a pit bull. No one ever said it was easy to change the world, what people like Mother Teresa and Martin Luther King Jr. have in common is that they did not quit in the face of adversity. They kept moving forward and that trait is the most important ingredient needed to change the world.

Other Day 4 Posts:

Hochmah and Musar

Mes Deux Cents

Rainbows and Butterflies

Becoming A Woman of Purpose

Celebrity Blitz

Alisha Nicole

Guerreiranigeriana

Musings of a Diva

Celebrate Love

Spirited Strider

Sleeping Beauty

Ezekiel’s Daughter

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are so right about how charitable organization misuse funds. A good place to check out if your favorite charity uses its funds wisely is http://www.charitynavigator.org

    Actually, Mother Theresa was an expert fund-raiser and hobnobbed with the wealthy of the world, including the likes of the despised Duvaliers of Haiti and Charles Keating (rob the poor to make myself rich types). The poor? Mother Theresa felt that: “I think it is very beautiful for the poor to accept their lot…I think the world is being much helped by the suffering of the poor people.”

    As you, I feel that $30 million by itself can’t change the world. There is more than enough money & resources in the world, it’s just that it’s in the hands of a few. The poor of the world need much more than a “trickle-down” effect: the floodgates need to be opened so that food, shelter, education & medical treatment are available to all.

  2. Interesting perspective. I agree with you about having a sense of compassion and a persistence like a pit bull! I’d add passion and intention to that list as well.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

