Positive Blogging Day 6: Words of Wisdom

November 9, 2007 at 3:28 pm | Posted in Inspiration | Leave a comment
Tags:

To see what I’m blogging about today, click this

Life goes by so very quickly, nothing reinforces that feeling more than getting a note in your mail for your college’s 10 year reunion or hearing the news that a girl you used to babysit for has moved to Israel, got married, and had a baby, all before the age of 23 or 24. 

As I’m trying to write down my words of wisdom for the next generation, I am reminded of the movie “My Life”. I have not seen that movie in many years but considering the theme of this post, it is appropriate that I think of this movie. Bob (Michael Keaton) and his wife, Susan, (Nicole Kidman) are expecting a child. The scenes that have stayed in my head the most are the scenes where he is videotaping himself talking about life, sharing bits of wisdom and advice on tape, talking about girls, even shaving on tape. I wanted to find these scenes on YouTube but to my dismay I could only find a couple videos.I decided to post a summary video of the movie

Without any further ado, here are my words of wisdom regarding relationships in no particular order.

1. Relationships take work, and I am referring to all relationships you have; whether it’s family, friends, or romantic ones. Expect relationships to change, some you may keep for a long time, others are transitory. Along that note:

2. How can you tell whether a friendship is a keeper? If your friend is the kind of person who will tell you when you have spinach in your teeth, that person is most likely a keeper. If you feel better about yourself when you’re not with your friend rather than when you’re with that friend , that is not a good thing. Friendships are supposed to lift you up; you don’t choose your family but you can choose your friends and why would you choose friends that suck the life out of you?

3. Do not be afraid of arguments. However, there is a good way and a bad way to argue. If something a friend, family member, coworker, etc. says or does to you hurts your feelings, you should say something. Saying something to that person when you are angry will not do you or anyone else any good. You can never take back mean words you say. If it means you sleep on it, you sleep on it. Things look better in the morning after a good nights sleep.

4. Sometimes you hold back in fear of what people might think of you. I forget how I heard of this quote and I might not get all the words right but I think it fits the situation: You can please some people all the time and all people some of the time but never everyone all the time.

There might be more words of wisdom coming, it is only a little past 10 AM.

Other Day 6 Posts

Hochmah and Musar

Mes Deux Cents

The Life of Wanda

Alisha Nicole

Spirited Strider

What Tami Said

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

