Before The Devil Knows You’re Dead

November 13, 2007 at 2:22 pm | Posted in Movies | Leave a comment

If you want to see this movie, you might not want to read this post, spoilers could be included.

Last night, I saw this movie with a couple of friends. I knew the premise of the film before seeing it but was still very surprised at how the movie progressed, especially the ending.  

I was impressed with the caliber of acting in the film, especially with Philip Seymour Hoffman and Ethan Hawke. To me, the movie was a great character study of how ordinary people cope with less than ideal circumstances and the lengths they go to in trying to get away with things. I found the storytelling device very effective, I liked how the movie went back and forth between the day of the robbery, days before the robbery, and the days after the robbery. When you were shown the robbery at first, the viewer understood it in one context but when you saw the robbery scene again after seeing the scenes of the brothers before the robbery, the viewer got a whole new perspective on the robbery. 

It was also a fascinating portrayal of how grief makes some people absolutely crazy with the idea of revenge, like with Albert Finney’s character. It was the kind of movie I couldn’t turn away from even though I wanted to at some points (ie seeing Philip Seymour Hoffman naked, I could have gone my whole life without seeing that). The final scenes in the film were shocking, I still have the image of the last scene in my head. Overall, this movie was not for the faint of heart but I do think it is a very well made film with a high quality of acting that might be rewarded come Academy Awards time.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

