Not Your Typical Bridal Shower

December 19, 2007 at 4:33 pm | Posted in Outings | Leave a comment
Tags:

When you think of a bridal shower, what is the first image that pops in your head? If I told you that I played a rousing game of basketball at a bridal shower, you probably wouldn’t believe me. But that is exactly what happened last night at my chavrusa’s bridal shower. For more background, read this post .

The bridal shower took place in Brooklyn. I forgot to mention that it was a surprise bridal shower. I got subway directions from hopstop, and didn’t realize that in addition to a long subway ride involving 2 trains, there would also be a fair bit of walking involved after I left the station (try 15-20 minutes!).

There were about 7-10 women there when I arrived, and the bride-to-be had not arrived yet. About 15-20 minutes after my arrival, the bride showed up and yes, she was in shock. As much as I kvetched inwardly about the long subway ride and walk afterwards, I loved seeing the look on my friend’s face as she walked in and saw all of our smiling faces. I almost wanted to ask her to go back out and walk inside again.

In addition to basketball, there was food (what would a jewish event be without food?!?). We had a nice meal of pizza, salad, and chips followed by a make your own ice cream sundae station. What about the game? As tempting as it was to sit and stuff my face for the whole night, I did play some ball.  All of the girls were playing in skirts, with exercise pants underneath.

It was my first (and last) time playing basketball in a skirt. How anyone does not trip over their own feet playing in a skirt is beyond me. I managed to stay upright most of the game. I forgot how much fun basketball can be; don’t ask me to actually shoot the ball because I can’t make a basket if my life depended on it but I can run up and down the court all night long. I couldn’t stay for the second half of the game. Thankfully, I had someone to travel back with for part of the way and we got a ride to the subway station : )

Sometimes you don’t feel like going to certain events and you can come up with a litany of excuses for why you don’t want to go (it’s too cold, i have to take 2 trains, it’s in brooklyn). When you decide to go anyway, sometimes you end up having a better time than expected and that is exactly what happened last night. Unfortunately, I cannot go to the wedding because I will be in Las Vegas with my family. Maybe I’ll win some extra money at the blackjack tables and give my winnings to the newlyweds. Stranger things have happened….

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

