How Time Flies…

June 4, 2008 at 8:19 pm | Posted in Outings, Random Stuff | Leave a comment

I have been in one of my “no blogging” phases, this occasionally happens; what have I been doing over the past month?

1. I saw 4 movies in the past month: Iron Man, Baby Mama, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, Sex and the City. Guess which two of these movies I saw with Bill?  One of these movies required me going back to the rat theatre, a friend who I’ll nickname Little Debbie (LD) had free passes. In the interest of keeping this post on the short side, I’ll review some, if not all, of the movies in future posts.

2. Bill and I have been spending some time with our nephews; we’ve been asked to do some babysitting. Bill has taught Big Peanut to run towards the pigeons in the park and make them fly away. BP also got a new bike that he absolutely loves. He can ride the bike very well with training wheels, I don’t think I even rode a bike at 3 years old.

3. I went to the JOC (Jewish Outdoors Club) event at Bear Mountain State park. Bill and I did an easy/moderate hike; there was very little easy in our hike. The first few minutes of our hike involved walking over a stream and walking up a steep incline. We were rewarded with some pretty amazing views. The downhill part of the hike was more challenging in my opinion. You constantly had to watch for tree root. On our way back to the park, it started raining and when we got to the barbecue it was pouring. It was my first time at Bear Mountain and I loved it, there are a variety of hiking trails, the zoo was not too shabby either. I would love to go back, just as long as it’s not raining.

4. A friend of mine, Little Debbie, has moved to my neighborhood. We initially met through mutual friends at a Shabbat meal about 6 months ago. She has already made a few Shabbas meals, there is a nice backyard in her building that she has access to.

5. The Israel Day parade was fun; I’m generally not into parades but I always go to the Isarel Day parade. It’s a chance to catch up with friends who you haven’t talked to in a long time and more importantly, you make it known that you support Israel. I knew of some friends who were walking in the parade but I didn’t get to see them : (  After the parade, Bill and I walked with a friend to the concert in the park, and went to a barbecue on the rooftop of the Jewish Center.

6. Thanks to the writing group that I’ve participated in for the past 4 months, I’ve started writing a personal essay on getting my ears pierced for the first time and have started writing 2 fiction pieces based on personal experiences. If I get my butt in gear, I might even submit my personal essay to some writing contests.

7. My younger brother, Rebel Lawyer, graduated law school 2 weeks ago. The ceremony was very long and Dr. O and I did not get to see RL get his diploma since we had to go back to work in the afternoon. RL is stuyding for the bar.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

