Read this now!!

July 21, 2008 at 2:52 pm | Posted in Read this now | 1 Comment

This is the debut of a new weekly feature. I have always loved reading, as a kid you would find me with my nose stuck in a book most of the time. Although it is more challenging to make time for reading, I try to find time for reading when I can, even if it means reading for minutes at a time while on a crosstown bus or right before going to sleep.

1. When I looked at the cover of this week’s New York Times magazine, I was instantly drawn to this story. It is a fascinating glimpse into the mind of a former drug addict and how he got drawn into using and selling drugs and more interestingly, how he changed his life.

2. Having spent some childhood summers in this city, I got a kick out of the cover story in this week’s Travel section.

3. Vacation is one of my favorite words ever. I try to go on vacation once a year. It could be for 2 1/2 weeks in Israel, which I did back in 2006 or a 1 week jaunt through Prague and Amsterdam, like I did back in 2004. My most recent vacation was a 4 day vacation in Las Vegas with my family. I find vacations to be a necessary but overlooked part of life. It gives me something to look forward to on those crazy workdays when the phone won’t stop ringing. However, with rising prices of travel, many people are rethinking their vacation plans, either postponing or canceling their plans. This story leads off the Style section and combines personal stories of how people changed their vacation plans to save more money and also gives some sobering statistics that might change the mind of those people that are too attached to their workplaces.

4. Read this piece about an Orthodox synagogue in the middle of Venice Beach, specifically the conflict between the synagogue and a store next door that sells t-shirts, bathing suits, and lingerie.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just passed that synagogue this week when I was walking on the boardwalk. It was locked. I’ve been inside before. It’s crazy. An orthodox synagogue in the middle of well, you read the article!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

