The Real Secret to Successful Relationships

August 1, 2008 at 3:51 pm | Posted in Humor, Relationships | 3 Comments

Look in almost every womens’ magazine and you will see an article on how to have a successful relationship, a happy marriage, so on and so forth. I wonder why selective amnesia is not on the list. Think about it; if you remember every annoying thing your significant other did or said, then you would talk yourself out of relationships. I’m referring to the times when your s.o. squeezes the toothpaste from the top instead of the bottom, doesn’t put the toilet seat down, is chronically late, or g-d forbid snores at night. That’s why earplugs were invented : )

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Maybe it’s more about gaining perspective because I’m sure messing with the toothpaste, constantly putting the toilet seat up and down, conforming to meticulous/petty puntuality demands, and tossing and turning in bed probably annoy the SO a little too.

    Getting to point where I could say “Maybe he annoys me with A but I probably annoy him with B, so whatever” meant maturity for my relationship.

  2. Actually, I think some comedian or another has mentioned selective amnesia as the secret to a good marriage.

  3. My mother-in-law has told me repeatedly that selective amnesia is the key to a good memory. This may be a problem since I have a really good memory.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

